Around Republic Square
At the time of its founding in 1295, approximately 300 houses were built in Pilsen. In the course of time they have undergone various modifications, but most of them have maintained their historical value. Many houses have even witnessed interesting historical events.
The Guldener house
This newer corner building on the corner of Republic Square and ulice B. Smetana was built in 1911 on the site of the demolished Guldener house. During the Hussite period the house belonged to Catherine Pabiánková, a big supporter of the Hussite movement. Jan Žižka resided there from 1419 to 1420. According to legend, after the expulsion of the Hussites from Pilsen, the widow Pabiánková left the town, having previously buried her wealth in the cellars under the house. Later the house was rebuilt by Jakub Auguston for Bartholoměj Guldener of Lobzy. A rare portal from the house has been preserved, and can now be found on the building of the Education and Research Library of the Pilsen Region.
The Salzmann house
This house, with an original embossed Renaissance portal, played a major role in the early days of fame of Pilsner beer. From 1842 carter Salzmann drove the first keg of beer from the new Měšťanský pivovar brewery to friends in Prague. In 1858 he established the well-known restaurant U Salzmannů.
The Perner house
Originally a medieval house, it underwent a distinctive Baroque reconstruction in the first half of the 18th century, when it belonged to the bell-producing Perner family.
House No. 83 (Gallery "13")
Originally a medieval house with three embossed Renaissance portals and a uniquely painted Renaissance wooden ceiling. It is now the headquarters of the West Bohemian Gallery.
House by the White Lion
In the 16th century this house was one of the largest and most expensive Renaissance houses in PIlsen. At the turn of the 18th and 19 century, it was rebuilt in late Baroque style with Neoclassical elements.
An interesting building is the historical meat market building from 1392, which is now the seat of the West Bohemian Gallery. The building was used until the 1950s as a meat market. In the years 1964 - 1971 it underwent a complex reconstruction, which created a unique exhibition space for exhibitions and various cultural events.
House with water tower
The oldest waterworks monument in Pilsen is a four-sided late Gothic tower at the corner of Pražska street and sady 5. května, which was once part of the town fortifications. It was built not only as a store for water, but also as part of the former Prague fortification gate. Sometime after 1822, the tower was rebuilt and an Empire floor was added. In 1912, a Gothic portal from a demolished house on Prešovska street was transferred to the tower. It now houses a gallery.
House in Perlova Street
This picturesque house is the antithesis of a Patrician house. Built on an old foundation, sometime after 1575, it was home to simple artisans - coopers, tailors, etc.
A walk down Solní street will reveal the sgraffito of Mikuláš Aleš, which adorns a house on the corner of Sedláčkova and Solní. With a theme of crafts, the figure of a butcher, blacksmith, maltster, tailor and shoemaker accompany guild emblems and flags. Aleš’s original sketches of these figures now adorn the Assembly Hall of the Town Hall.
The house at Solní 19 belonged to Pilsen printer J.R. Port, for whom housebuilder Edward Kroh created a grand façade decorated with portraits of 14 Czech rulers and coats-of-arms of the Czech lands.
City Palace at the Golden Sun
Originally two medieval houses that were connected as early as sometime before 1530, the house has a Rococo façade featuring the house emblem and today is the seat of the National Heritage Institute.
A late Gothic house rebuilt for Mayor F. Mestl in 1728, probably by Auguston. It has a Renaissance portal.